I don’t know why I’m doing this

I mean, I’m on a diet.  Yet I keep making jam, at least one batch every weekend.  This weekend I made Spiced Blueberry Peach Jam.

I learned a lesson from Bridget Jones and tied the cheesecloth with white string, not blue – but for some reason I thought a single layer of cheesecloth would hold the cloves, allspice and cinnamon stick throughout 40 minutes of hard boiling and constant stirring.  It didn’t.  It only held the cinnamon stick.

As soon as I realized that a breach occurred, I took it off the heat, poured it into a bowl, put a strainer into the pot and strained the jam, spoonful by spoonful, picking out escaped spices as I went.  Then I made a new spice bag with quadrupled cheesecloth, and resumed cooking.

I ended up with 6 half pints of jam and I hope none contain whole pieces of spice!

I think I’m making all this jam just so I can lick the spoon (and the ladle, and the pot, etc.).

I also finished spinning this!

I split the fiber into thirds as best as I could eyeball it.  On one bobbin, I spun from light to dark, on the second I spun from dark to light (both with no further separation), and on the third I split the fiber even more to have shorter repeats of color.

Voila!  I think I made Trekking XXL!

500 yards 3 ply polwarth, sock weight.  I can’t wait to knit with it!  I washed it and hung it on the line to dry in the sun yesterday, but a summertime shower while we were out foiled those plans.  Maybe tonight it’ll be dry enough to cast on!

How was your weekend?