last weekend

I had the house to myself and kept busy.  I finished my mom’s birthday quilt top and worked on a scrappy quilt, strip pieced from two jelly rolls.  I absolutely love this quilt – the waves of riotous color make me happy!  I followed these instructions, but used only five strips per block instead of six to save fabric.  This resulted in shorter lengths of one color and it was easier to see the pattern when laid out in waves rather than diamonds.  It’s so bright it’ll put your eye out, but I still love it!  I can’t wait to make another!

17 thoughts on “last weekend

  1. I LOVE it! So bright!, so cheery! (Having been recently re-bitten by the quilting bug, I am very tempted to make one just like this in blues and greens.)

    Like

  2. Beautiful! I have always wanted to make a tiny squares quilt, but have never gotten around to it. I especially like the way the zigzags emerge from the dance of colors in this one.

    Like

  3. Both quilts are gorgeous! I’ve been wanting to make a scrap quilt for a while but I just don’t have enough time in the week to do everything. And I’m starting to lean back toward bead embroidery again. (sigh) So many ideas, so little time.

    Like

  4. Ooh, I love the granny square! It looks so happy, and I love that you oversized the blocks!

    And wow, the postage stamp quilt is indeed, a riot of color! I love it! It’s so bright and happy.

    Like

Leave a Reply

